NMap 7 is out

Yesterday I read that there is a totally new release of nmap, the network mapping tool. I’ve blogged about Nmap before. Version 7 has attacks against Heartbleed, it has mature IPv6 support, faster scans on Windows and BSD systems. And it has 171 new scripts and 20 libraries (new since Nmap 6 though).

The release notes make mention of a script called oracle-brute-stealth script, which can exploit the CVE-2012-3137 vulnerability, a weakness in Oracle’s O5LOGIN authentication scheme in a lot of 11g versions (except when protocol 12 is required). This vulnerability has been fixed in the Critical Patch Update of October 2012.

I got all excited. But then I realized that oracle-brute-force actually exists in this form since 2012. I’m going to test this out anyway, because it’s an interesting way to gain access to unpatched Oracle 11g databases.

About Marcel-Jan Krijgsman

Ever since I started working with Oracle, I had an interest in Oracle database performance tuning. This led, eventually, to a four day training I made and gave for customers of Transfer Solutions. Since 2012 I work for Rabobank Nederland. A few years ago I also became interested in Oracle database security. All technology aside, it is my experience that security usually plays out on a political level. I'm a Oracle certified professional for the 8i, 9i, 10g and 11g databases and Oracle Database 11g Performance Tuning Certified Expert.
This entry was posted in Oracle security and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NMap 7 is out

Leave a Reply

