Harmony 2015, day 0

I’m currently in Tallinn, Estonia, for the Harmony 2015 conference. I was one day early to visit the old town and to attend the speakers diner.

Tallinn from the 19th floor.

Tallinn from the 19th floor.

We speakers are staying at the fabulous SwissĂ´tel (with a discount). Ingmar, one of the organizers, showed us around. I already took a peak at it in the morning.

The Russian Orthodox Church in Tallinn

The Russian Orthodox Church in Tallinn

Tallinn has a nice old city center with parts of the old city wall, medieval towers and streets with nice houses.

Streets seen from the area around the Maiden's Tower in Tallinn.

Streets seen from the area around the Maiden’s Tower in Tallinn.

At 16:00 we were invited for a walk in Lahemaa national park. At first it just looks like normal woods, but lateron we walked over wooden planks above marshland. It was a very nice

Walking in Lahemaa natural park.

Walking in Lahemaa natural park.

Start of the diner at the OKO Resto in Kaberneeme, Harjumaa

Start of the diner at the OKO Resto in Kaberneeme, Harjumaa

After the walk everyone was in for a bite (some were ready for a big bite). We went to the OKO Resto in Kaberneeme. It was quite a trip, but in the end I have to say the trip was well worth it. The food was excellent. It started off with ginger snapps. I never had snapps before, but if I can find a bottle of that quality, I will certainly take it home as a souvenir.

I don’t eat fish that often, but the fish here was so great. Melt in your mouth. The four courses were accompanied with local beer (or cider), but also vodka and the dessert went accompanied with a sweet wine. Yep, there certainly was an alcohol theme and of great quality.

In the end all I can say about the organization: guys, don’t be so modest. I’ve never experienced a reception like this before. So far, it’s wonderful.

(I have lots more pictures. I’ll post them later, when I have some time.)

About Marcel-Jan Krijgsman

Ever since I started working with Oracle, I had an interest in Oracle database performance tuning. This led, eventually, to a four day training I made and gave for customers of Transfer Solutions. Since 2012 I work for Rabobank Nederland. A few years ago I also became interested in Oracle database security. All technology aside, it is my experience that security usually plays out on a political level. I'm a Oracle certified professional for the 8i, 9i, 10g and 11g databases and Oracle Database 11g Performance Tuning Certified Expert.
This entry was posted in Conferences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

