sql_sql_id_html.sql is now called sqlperf.sql (and new versions too)

[Update]: there is now a non-Diagnostics Pack version here.

[Update]: version 1.6 is now out. More on this blogpost.

My collegues are frequently using my SQL performance scripts, but there were some complaints that the scriptnames were a bit too long. Now if that’s the worst complaint I’ll get, I think I can handle that. But yeah, maybe they were a bit too long. So I’ve changed the scriptnames:

sql_sql_id_html.sql is now called sqlperf.sql. And stats_sql_id_html.sql is now called sqlstats.sql. The names of the example output files are changed as well (but they are now still of the old version).

But apart from the name change the scripts are also new versions. In previous versions it would retrieve statistics and statistics history data for the execution plan in memory. Now it also looks for tables/indexes mentioned in execution plans in AWR data. Too often I’m investigating SQL that is no longer in memory and this way I still get all of the statistics data I need to analyze it’s problems.

 

About Marcel-Jan Krijgsman

Ever since I started working with Oracle, I had an interest in Oracle database performance tuning. This led, eventually, to a four day training I made and gave for customers of Transfer Solutions. Since 2012 I work for Rabobank Nederland. A few years ago I also became interested in Oracle database security. All technology aside, it is my experience that security usually plays out on a political level. I'm a Oracle certified professional for the 8i, 9i, 10g and 11g databases and Oracle Database 11g Performance Tuning Certified Expert.
This entry was posted in Oracle performance tuning, Oracle scripts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

